The Art Journey - Guy Diehl - Art2Life Podcast Episode 42

Share
Embed
  • Loading...
  • Published on:  Wednesday, August 10, 2022
  • https://Art2Life.com - The cool thing about making art is that even though we are mostly alone in our studios, we are not alone on the creative path. All of us are here, no matter what you make. There are people ahead of us, and always (regardless of when we begin), people behind us. We simply gain knowledge the further we go. The longer one has been on the path, the more wisdom they acquire.

    Today we are talking to Guy Diehl, a bay area still-life realist painter who has been involved with creating a life centered upon art for over 50 years. His early childhood challenge of dyslexia was relieved by art-making and he simply never looked back. He has peered into all kinds of artistic genres, often spending a decade of passionate investigation into any he felt drawn towards.

    For the last decade or two, Guy has focused on making incredibly alluring still-life paintings. His mastery of acrylic paint and materials is unparalleled. His sustainable art practice and “make art no matter what” attitude is inspiring. Come listen to the wisdom of the art and life of Guy Diehl, a fellow traveler on the creative path.

    ================================

    LISTEN IF YOU ARE INTERESTED IN…

    Getting to know Guy Diehl and the start of his art journey [2:19]

    Insight from over 50 years of working with acrylics [17:35]

    Choosing subject matter, the beauty of abstract art, and why Guy loves photo-realism [23:01]

    Exploring Guy’s use of natural light and the humanity found in his work [31:09]

    How Guy decides the objects used in his paintings [43:43]

    The journey ahead and Guy’s advice for those just starting [53:36]

    ================================

    RESOURCES MENTIONED

    Guy Diehl - Realist with a Minimalist Aesthetic: https://www.juxtapoz.com/news/painting/guy-diehl-realist-with-a-minimalist-aesthetic/

    Guy Diehl - Forging an Art Life: https://themattgonzalezreader.com/2020/12/14/guy-diehl-2/

    Robert Bechtle (Artist): http://www.artnet.com/artists/robert-bechtle/

    Wayne Thiebaud (Artist): https://www.berggruen.com/artists/wayne-thiebaud

    Gordon Cook (Artist): http://www.artnet.com/artists/gordon-cook/

    Franz Kline (Artist): https://www.artsy.net/artist/franz-kline

    Plein Air Wisdom – Doug Andelin – Ep 16 (Art2Life Podcast): https://www.art2life.com/2022/02/09/plein-air-wisdom-doug-andelin-ep-16/

    Richard McLean (Artist): http://www.artnet.com/artists/richard-mclean/

    F Scott Hess (Artist): https://www.instagram.com/fscotthess/

    =================================

    CONNECT WITH GUY DIEHL

    Website: http://www.guydiehl.com/

    Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/guydiehlstudio/

    Facebook: fb.com/guy.diehl.9

    =============================

    CONNECT WITH NICHOLAS WILTON AND ART2LIFE:

    Get the Free COLOR TIPS PDF: https://workshop.art2life.com/color-tips-pdf-podcasts/

    Follow the Sunday Art2Life Vlog: https://art2life.lpages.co/sign-up-for-the-a2l-vlog/

    Follow Nicholas Wilton's Art on Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/nicholaswilton/

    Follow Art2Life on Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/art2life_world/?hl=en

    Like on Facebook: fb.com/art2lifeworld

    Subscribe on Youtube: https://www.clipvl.net/channel/UCe8dJWKgPKkW4W3fsb1vLeg
  • Source: https://youtu.be/3bzH32TcLp8
Loading...

Comment